Penarth to St Mary’s Well Bay

I walked from Penarth to St Marys Well Bay yesterday, on my own as Andi was at work.

I parked at Penarth, and walked west from the town beach, past the end of the concrete walkway and found a place to stash my bag as soon as possible. There were a few people exploring on the beach, just down from me at the waterline, so I was in pretty much full view of them.

I walked naked along the beach, wearing only my trainers and sunglasses, pretty hidden from view of the cliff top path as I was up near the top of the beach to keep in the shade (the sun had moved over the cliff top) until i reached the Low tide rock / stone bar which is sometimes uncovered. It lets you walk a long way out into the sea at extreme low tide.

I returned to the beach and kept walking west towards Lavernock point, passing a female dog walker on the way. As I neared the point, I walked close to three very attractive girls (probably in their 20’s). They were sitting sunbathing and chatting, two wearing bikinis, the other in shorts and her bra when I walked past. They were pretty amazed to see a naked guy walking on the beach, but took it in their stride and were very happy to chat with me for 10 minutes whilst they all had a good look. Sadly i couldn’t persuade any of them to get naked! As we were chatting, I got an erection which they all enjoyed looking at. They were gone when I walked back later on.

As I walked round the point I passed an older couple (lots of disapproving looks), then a group of younger people, two couples and a guy all together – they didn’t say anything to me, but there was some smiles and sniggering. All amusing course. Another guy walking a dog passed soon after.

I then walked on down the beach and out onto a fantastic sandbar which is exposed at very low tides. The sand bar extends out in front of St Marys Well Bay, and creates a bit of a lagoon behind which seems to be fantastic for skinnydipping, (note the comment below though). I had a dip then headed back the way I had come. This time I could see a few people up on the cliff top on the balconies of their chalets in the chalet park peering down to have a good look. I waved at them and a couple of them disappeared from view, obviously embarrassed for some reason to be watching (I don’t care)!

I walked back around the point and all the way back up to the Penarth end to (sadly) recover my clothes and put them back on. There was a couple of fishermen out on the point for the incoming tide, but they didn’t even see me as I walked past at the top of the beach.

All in all a really enjoyable nude walk of just under 6 miles which took me around 2.5 hrs including my naked swim.

2 thoughts on “Penarth to St Mary’s Well Bay

  1. I think I saw you on this walk! I was on the cliff top but didn’t see you wave! I must point out that the sandbank you walked and swam from is very tempting but the currents are notorious, especially between Sully Island and the point, many people have been drowned (apparently) trying to make it back to the mainland. It seems like a small strip of water but fills up in minutes. Check out Sully Island on the web for more info, it’s the same currents:( I often walk naked along this stretch, between the two caravan camps, I prefer not to ‘be seen’ by the chalet owners as they could call the police, but have no problems passing strangers on a long walk. Hope you can get in touch, maybe go on a walk together?

  2. Thanks for the sandbank info. I know about the Sully Island currents, but have seen people swimming in the water behind the sandbank before, so assumed it was OK. seemed Ok at the time, but ill be aware of the currents now!

Leave a comment